US closes five military bases in Afghanistan as part of Doha Peace Agreement with Taliban

As part of the February Doha Agreement with the Taliban, on July 14, the U.S. Defense Department announced that the U.S. has closed five military bases and reduced the size of its troops stationed in the region to 8,600.

Reportedly, the five U.S. bases that has been closed are located in Helmand, Laghman, Paktika and Uruzgan provinces, in southern and eastern Afghanistan. But, the larger bases in Bagram, located outside Kabul and Kandabar Air Field in southern Afghanistan are still open.

Pentagon Spokesman Jonathan Hoffman said in a statement on July 14, “We maintain the capabilities and authorities necessary to protect ourselves, our Allies and partners, and U.S. national interests.”

Despite the pull-out of the US troops from Afghanistan, so as to resolve the conflict in the region and secure peace, the U.S. will continue to execute the counter-terrorism mission and support the NATO Resolute Support Train, Advise, Assist Mission and Afghan National Defense and Security Forces.

The February Doha deal, has laid out a 14-month timetable for the withdrawal of U.S. military forces, its allies and coalitions. It augments the possibility to end America’s nearly two decades long involvement in the war in Afghanistan since 2001.

Photo Credit :

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.