The 13th BRICS Summit chaired by India will take place on September 9

The 13th BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa) Summit would be held on September 9 under the chairmanship of India. Following 2012 and 2016, India will host the BRICS Summit for the third time.

Under Russia’s chairmanship, the 2020 BRICS summit was held virtually in the midst of the covid pandemic.

The summit took place in November, and it was the first time since the Galwan valley incident that Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chinese President Xi Jinping were on the same platform.

Earlier this year, at the 11th BRICS Trade Ministers Meeting, new areas of cooperation such as trade-in professional services, genetic resources, and consumer protection in the context of e-commerce gained traction.

Bangladesh, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), and Uruguay were also welcomed as new members of the BRICS New Development Bank (NDB) by India.

Under India’s chairmanship, BRICS energy ministers also met and pledged to improve the energy sector’s efficiency.

In July 2006, on the sidelines of the G8 Outreach Summit in St Petersburg, Russia, the leaders of the BRIC countries met for the first time.

Shortly after, during the 1st BRIC Foreign Ministers’ Meeting, held on the sidelines of the UN General Debate in New York City in September 2006, the group was formally named BRIC.

On June 16, 2009, the 1st BRIC summit was held in Yekaterinburg, Russia, following a series of high-level discussions.