Philippines to expand COVID restriction regions

In order to check the spread of COVID-19, Philippines has expand COVID restriction in many regions around capital Manila, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said on Sunday. 

The provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal, along with the national capital region will be placed under stricter restrictions to curb the surge. The new restrictions will be effective from next Monday till April 4, Roque added. 

“Only essential travel into and out of (these adjacent provinces) will be allowed,” Roque said. 

He said that mass gatherings, including religious congregations, are banned; face-to-face meetings in these areas are “highly discouraged”; a seven-hour curfew starting 10:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. will be imposed in all five regions. 

Photo Credit :