PAP’s Secretary-General Lee Hsien Loong sworn-in as Singapore’s new Prime Minister

On July 27, in a ceremony at the Istana, Singapore, People’s Action Party (PAP) Secretary-General Lee Hsien Loong has been sworn in as the Prime Minister of Singapore.

The swearing-in of the Prime Minister took place before Singapore President, Halimah Yacob.

The People’s Action Party (PAP) led by Lee retained their victory in the Republic’s general election on July 10 and won 83 of the 93 Parliamentary seats at stake.

On July 25, Lee Hsien Loong, 68, announced his new Cabinet line-up. For the new Cabinet, there are total 37 office-holders, the same as the previous 2015 line-up that included Ministers of State and Parliamentary Secretaries.

In the newly formed Cabinet, Heng Swee Keat continues as Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister and takes on additional responsibilities as Coordinating Minister for Economic Policies. Two senior ministers, Teo Chee Hean and Tharman Shanmugaratnam, remain as Coordinating Minister for National Security and Social Policies respectively.

Besides the Prime Minister’s Office, there are 15 other ministries. Masagos Zulkifly, Indranee Rajah, Grace Fu, Lawrence Wong, Ong Ye Kung and Desmond Lee each get a new portfolio while Dr. Maliki Osman and Edwin Tong have been promoted as Ministers. Chan Chun Sing, S. Iswaran, Ng Eng Hen, Vivian Balakrishnan, K. Shanmugam, Gan Kim Yong and Josephine Teo remain as Ministers in their respective Ministries.

Photo Credit :

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.