NLD lawmakers in Myanmar denounce the military coup

Lawmakers from the National League for Democracy (NLD) in Myanmar have denounced the coup by the country’s military and has called for respecting the results of the November 8 elections. 

According to the Irrawaddy,  the lawmakers said in a statement  that they are elected members of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (Union Parliament) by a majority vote of the people. They said that lawmakers have already received certificates of election from the Union Election Commission (UEC). 

According to the 2008 Constitution, the official term of a lawmaker is five years and no one has the right to revoke that term of office as long as the Constitution is in force, the lawmakers said. 

In the statement they also called for an immediate release of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, U Win Myint and other detainees. 

The parliamentarians said that they pledged to stand with the people in defiance of the military coup and remain loyal to the cause of democracy. They pledged their loyalty to the fundamental rights and interests of the state and its citizens as elected representatives. 

The 2021 Myanmar coup d’état began on the morning of 1 February when democratically elected members of Myanmar’s ruling party, the National League for Democracy, were deposed by the Tatmadaw—Myanmar’s military—which vested power in a stratocracy. The Tatmadaw declared a year-long state of emergency and declared power had been vested in Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services Min Aung Hlaing. The coup d’état occurred the day before the Parliament of Myanmar was due to swear in the members elected at the November 2020 general election, preventing this from occurring. President Win Myint and State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi were detained, along with ministers and their deputies and members of Parliament. Shortly after the coup, the military formally justified its detention of Aung San Suu Kyi by officially charging her for the possession of illegally imported walkie talkies. 

Photo Credit :