Netherlands has Become the Eighth EU Country to Approve the Covishield Vaccine

The Netherlands accepted the Covishield vaccine from the Serum Institute of India on Friday, after the acceptance of the vaccine by seven other European Union countries on Thursday.  

Germany, Slovenia, Austria, Greece, Ireland, Estonia, and Spain are among the European Union countries that have approved Covishield. 

Iceland and Switzerland, two non-EU countries, have also given their approval for the vaccination. According to them, Switzerland has accepted Covishield as a Schengen member. Separately, Estonia has stated that it will accept all vaccines approved by the Indian government for Indians traveling to that country, according to the sources. 

India has already requested that each EU member country consider permitting Indians who have received the Covishield and Covaxin vaccines to travel to Europe. 

The Digital Covid certificate, or “Green Pass,” issued by the European Union on Thursday aims to make free travel easier during the Covid-19 pandemic. Persons who have received vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) will be exempt from travel restrictions throughout the EU region under this system.  

Individual member states can accept vaccines that have been approved at the national level or that have been recognized by the World Health Organization (WHO). 

Unless they are traveling from a nation that has been recognized as a very high-risk area due to the existence of a variation of concern, people who have been completely vaccinated may be exempt from the EU entrance prohibition. 

Photo Credit: