Malawian President appoints new Electoral Commission Chairperson

Ahead of the Presidential re-election in Malawi, the country’s President Peter Mutharika has appointed a new Electoral Commission Chairperson.

President Peter Mutharika appointed Justice Chifundo Kachale as the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission of Malawi on June 7. President Peter Mutharika has also appointed new commissioners, namely Arthur Nanthuru, Steve Duwa, Jean Mathanga, Linda Kunje, Anthony Mukumbwa and Olivia Liwewe ahead of the Presidential re-run.

The new Chairperson, Justice Chifundo Kachale will have a task to deliver credible Presidential election that have been demanded by the opposition.

In the month of February, the Constitutional Court annulled 2019’s re-election of President Mutharika-a ruling upheld by the Supreme Court and ordered a fresh Presidential election be held within 150 days.

The former Chairperson of the Electoral Commission of Malawi, Jane Ansah resigned amid criticism by the opposition on how she managed the disputed election.

One of the proposed dates of the re-election is June 23, yet no confirmation has been provided by the government.

Photo Credit :

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.