Japan raises travel alert for 13 countries amidst COVID-19

With the global reach of the coronavirus, Japan like other nations have kept travel restrictions at place to stem the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic.

On May 12, Japan raised its travel alert for 13 countries to its second-highest level, warning against any trips to these areas.

Foreign Minister Toshimitsu Motegi said that foreign travellers who have been in the 13 nations- which include five South and Central American countries, including Mexico, Uruguay and Colombia-within two weeks of arriving in Japan will be denied entry following the upgraded advisory.

Maldives, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and five African countries are among the newly added countries to the Level 3 advisory area list.

Japan by far has banned the entry of foreign travellers from 87 countries and regions including China, South Korea, the United States, Russia and most of Europe since March, and suspended visas issued to people from the rest of the world. Apart from these countries, the remaining nations are in Japan’s Level 2 advisory in which the government has asked its citizens to refrain from all nonessential overseas travel.

Photo Credit : https://pixabay.com/illustrations/covid-19-virus-coronavirus-pandemic-4960254/

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.