IMF issues debt relief list of 25 nations, Africa dominates the list

As a measure to ease the economic burden on people in countries impacted by COVID-19 pandemic, the International Monetary Fund announced debt relief under the IMF’s revamped Catastrophe Containment and Relief Trust (CCRT) on April 13.

The International Monetary Fund has extended the debt reliefs to the poorest and most vulnerable members comprising of 25 countries. It was confirmed by the IMF Managing Director, Kristalina Georgieva.

Of the 25 countries who have been freed of debt obligations, 19 countries are African nations. They included: Benin, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, D.R., The Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

Remaining 6 countries of the 25 nations include Afghanistan, Haiti, Nepal, Solomon Islands, Tajikistan and Yemen.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.