Eight countries lose voting rights at UN due to unpaid dues

Due to unpaid dues, eight countries, including Iran, Venezuela, and Sudan, have lost their right to vote at the United Nations. 

In a letter to the General Assembly on Tuesday, Secretary-General Antonio Guterres warned that 11 countries are overdue on their payments.  

A member country’s right to vote is suspended under the UN charter when its arrears equal to or exceed the amount of dues it should have paid in the previous two years. 

If the outstanding debt is determined to be due to circumstances beyond the member’s control, the assembly may allow that country to vote. The Comoro Islands, Sao Tome, Principe, and Somalia are all on the list for 2022. 

Iran, Sudan, Venezuela, Antigua and Barbuda, Congo, Guinea, and Papua New Guinea are the eight countries that have lost their ability to vote for the time being. 

He specified the bare minimum that each must pay in order to reclaim their vote. Iran, for example, will need slightly over $18 million, while Sudan would need about $300,000 and Venezuela will need around $40 million. 

Iran also lost a vote last year owing to unpaid dues. It claimed that due to US economic sanctions, it was unable to pay even the bare minimum. 

After months of discussions, Iran was granted an exemption, allowing it to access funds frozen by the US Treasury, and it regained its Security Council vote in June, just in time for the election of new members. 

The operational budget for the United Nations, which was authorized in December, is estimated to be roughly $3 billion. It has a separate budget for peacekeeping activities, which was passed in June and is roughly $6.5 billion. 

Photo Credit : https://www.flickr.com/photos/un_photo/24320174321